Testing Matrices

I’m sure I’m behind the times. 
And I’m asking for a little help here.

Evidently it is common practice
not to put characters or their states into published matrices. I don’t know why, but now I’ve seen it twice. Published data apparently comes in two files, a nexus file and an Excel file.

This is at odds
with my practice… to have a complete nexus file, with characters, states and taxa ready to be used, tested, changed, enlarged, etc.

I have both MacClade and Mesquite to work with. 
I don’t know how to mass load all the characters and their states from an Excel file into the  Mesquite program that already includes the taxa and scores. The instructions have not, so far, enlightened me on this, I’m sure, minor problem. I could cut and paste one at a time, but I have a feeling this labor is not common practice.

If anyone has a clue as to 
how this is done, please contact me here. I will post that someone has done so here when someone has done so in order to avoid multiple responses.

2 thoughts on “Testing Matrices

  1. I’m not entirely sure what you’re asking. Are you asking if you have a matrix in mesquite, and you have another matrix with some characters/taxa overlapping, is it possible to import the overlapping scores en masse?

    If that is what you’re asking I’m afraid the answer is no; bringing then in one at a time is the standard way to do things. It’s a pain, but I don’t think there’s any other way

    • Indeed. The published data comes in two parts that must be rejoined in order to understand the scores. Not sure why workers have to deconstruct (split into two parts) their matrices for publication. But I’ve seen it several times now.

Leave a Reply

